Meat Free Mondays — Three Bean Pizza

Perhaps my wife stated it best when I told her what I was making for dinner:

“Wait, what?”

That’s because you normally don’t associate beans and pizza. They don’t seem like two things that would go together. But the fact is, in this recipe they worked together very well because the protein in the three beans — black beans, chickpeas and red kidney beans — is the perfect low-fat low-cholesterol meat-free substitute for spicy pepperoni or greasy sausage.

I won’t go so far as to say that this tastes like traditional pizza. It doesn’t.

But it is delicious in its own right. With the salsa as the sauce and the pepper jack mixed into the cheese, it definitely has more of a Mexican flavor to it.

I frequently put beans in my quesadillas, so maybe that’s what this recipe reminds me of: A big, open-faced cheese quesadilla.

Normally, I would have used my homemade pizza dough. But frankly it has been so busy around here I just didn’t have time, so instead I bought one of those pre-made pizza doughs in the paper tube. I really wanted to hate it, but I have to admit it tasted really good.

BONUS: The recipe I found called for one can each of the beans, but that was WAY too much, so I only used half and made a three bean salad with the other half. Win/win!

Three Bean Pizza

1 TBS EVOO

1/2 white onion, small dice

2 cloves garlic, crushed.

1/2 15-oz can black beans

1/2 can chick peas

1/2 can red kidney beans

1/2 can cut corn

12 oz salsa

1 tube (10 oz) refrigerated pizza dough

4 oz mozzarella, shredded

4 oz pepper jack, shredded

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp chili powder

1. Preheat oven to 425. Roll out pizza dough onto a baking sheet, spray with pan spray and cook 6 minutes. This will result in a crisp, cracker-like crust. Meanwhile, pour all four cans into a colander, drain and toss together until fully mixed.

2. Put cast iron pan on fire. When hot, add oil. When smoking, add onions and cook until onions transclucent, about five minutes. Add garlic and cook another minute, then add half the bean/corn mixture and cook until heated through, about another five minutes.

3. Pour the salsa onto the pizza dough and spread it so the entire surface is covered, except the edges. Sprinkle the dough with half the cheese, then add the bean mixture in an even layer and sprinkle with the remaining cheese. Sprinkle the top with the cumin and chile powder

4. Bake for 10 minutes or until top is brown and bubbly. Remove from oven and cut into squares.

Have you ever come across a recipe that made you stop and ask what the …?! Share your story in the comments section below. And thanks for looking at my blog!

5 thoughts on “Meat Free Mondays — Three Bean Pizza

  1. Good one, though it seems more like a focaccia then a pizza.
    There was no problem with the weight or moisture of all the ingredients on the crust?

    Funny you’re posting this today. i made the worlds worst pizza on Saturday – seriously, everything that could have gone wrong did.

  2. Actually, the crust was surprisingly strong, kind of like one of those paper towel commercials! I guess that’s the power of Pillsbury.

    Re: your pizza Saturday: Did you burn the sauce? over proof the dough? burn the top of the pie?

    Here in Chicago, we have sort of an embarrassment of riches when it comes to great pizza places, but we found ANOTHER one this week. Little Frankie’s pizza, and it was awesome! Almost as good as my favorite NYC pizza place, Famous Ray’s in the village.

    Have a great week!

    • Improper sauce – way too sweet, dough wasn’t cooked through, burned cheese, crust didn’t support anything. Just an unholy mess. Ate it anyway. Wasn’t happy at all.

      I know Famous Rays. Great slices!

  3. One of my favorite pizza combinations ever is BBQ Chickpea…just chickpeas, bbq sauce, corn/onion/garlic mix that I sauteed, and then top with shredded cheddar cheese….on a store bought dough (I haven’t quite mastered the whole making my own dough technique yet). Its simple, delicious, and oh so satisfying. I must admit I didn’t think it would be…but its stellar cold and has great mouth feel. I haven’t tried 3 bean…this is up next. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

