Buttermilk Biscuits and Sausage Gravy

With Spring right around the corner and winter in its final days (hopefully), the time has come to rev up the diet and exercise program.

But before we do, I wanted one last fatty indulgence that I could enjoy before breaking out the scale and lacing up the running shoes. And there’s nothing more unhealthy for you than buttermilk biscuits and country gravy.

The simplest and most comfortable of comfort foods, buttermilk biscuits and sausage gravy is reminiscent of a bygone era, a time when people could enjoy this super heavy breakfast without feeling guilty the rest of the day.

While that time has past, the appeal of this delicious, non-nutritious breakfast has not. Other than how good it tastes, the only other positive thing I can say about it is that it is actually inexpensive to make, with the sausage being the only ingredient that costs more than just a few pennies.

This was so delicious and so indulgent that I could almost hear my arteries filling up as I ate it. But it felt like the most appropriate way to mark the end of winter and the beginning of a new season.

Buttermilk Biscuits and Sausage Gravy

For the biscuits

3 cups all purpose flour

3 tsp baking powder

3/4 cup buttermilk

1 tsp salt

3/4 tsp baking soda

3/4 cup Crisco shortening

1 TBS butter, melted

1. Preheat oven to 450F. Combine dry ingredients in a mixing bowl, then add the shortening, a clump at a time, mixing it in with a biscuit cutter or just your hands. When it is all blended, slowly mix in the buttermilk just until a smooth dough is formed. Don’t overmix.

2. Flour a work surface then flatten out dough with a rolling pin until it’s about 3/4 inch thick. Use a cookie cutter to cut dough into circles, then lay them out on a sheet pan sprayed with pan spray.  Brush the tops with melted butter then bake for 18 minutes. Let cool a little before serving.

For Sausage Gravy

1/2 lb bulk breakfast sausage

2 cups fat free milk

2 TBS butter

3 TBS all purpose flour

Sea salt

Fresh cracked black pepper

1. Put cast iron pan on the fire. When hot, add the sausage. Use a spatula to break into smaller peices and cook until browned, about five minutes, stirring frequently.

2. Heat milk in saucepan until simmering. In a separate saucepan, melt butter then whisk in flour to form a roux. Cook together until roux turns a light brown, then whisk the roux into the boiling milk and cook until milk thickens to gravy consistency, about 3 minutes. Stir in sausage and season with salt and pepper to taste.

To plate, pile biscuits in center of plate then ladle a generous portion of sausage gravy over the top. If you need me, I’ll be over here having a heart attack.

What kinds of foods do you eat when you want to indulge yourself? Share your story in the comments section below. And thanks for looking at my blog!

4 thoughts on “Buttermilk Biscuits and Sausage Gravy

  1. Dude, my mouth is watering.
    One of my favorite comfort foods is a hot dog cooked perfectly on a flattop griddle, with mustard and kraut.
    Fortunately, I’m in NYC, so they are never that far away…

  2. OMG you have to make this for me. It reminds me of the best breakfast meal I ever had at Chuck’s Southern Comfort Cafe, Arteries be damned. Life is short. (alltho probably a bit shorter if you eat this too often) As usual, you have made my mouth water.

  3. After an order at Popeye’s chicken which was missing a biscuit, I decided to start making my own, and have not looked back!
    What an interesting surprise for the gravy – fat free milk! See I had assumed it was heavy cream or at least whole milk, just to keep it as you said so well, one of those guilty overindulgences. So now I think I will add it to the biscuit routine. Guilt will not be included.

    To indulge myself – a steak with all the fixings and a bottle of wine, with a dessert that requires (or does not require) whipped cream.

  4. Looks delish! Do you know I”ve never had this meal before. But, as good as the pic looks…Its going to be the next “must make” breakfast for me and my beau!!!! Love this blog! Great work!

Leave a Reply

